Fictional Jobs We (All) Wish Were Real

Have you ever been stuck in a rut, desperate for a sign of what you should do next? Often find yourself thinking “I have no idea what I want to do with my life”?

Then all of a sudden it hits you like a tonne of bricks… PURE JOB ENVY.

Characters in books, games and on the big screen always seem to have the most interesting (not to mention well-paid) jobs.

We took to our readers to ask: Which fictional character gave you ultimate #CareerGoals?

We wouldn’t blame you for wanting to switch career paths with some of these…

 

 

Kirsty Howarth, 25, from Manchester, says:

“I’d love to own a shop like Mr. Magoriums Wonder Emporium because it’s not just a toy shop. You would never get bored of working there and everyday would be different!”

 

Joseph James, 22, from Sheffield, says:

“I’d like to own Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory. It was my absolute favourite film when I was a kid, I still love it now. He’s not just a confectioner, he loves his job and it looks fun. There’s a chocolate river! Who wouldn’t want that job?”

 

 

Tomb Raider
Lara Croft in action.

 

Lauren King, 24, from Sheffield, says:

“I’d really like to be Tomb Raider.  Lara Croft goes on adventures and she’s always exploring. She knows how to defend herself in combat and she’s never stuck for money. Plus you’d find some interesting things raiding tombs for a living.”

 

Jake Cottam, 25, from Rotherham, says:

“I’ve always liked the idea of being a Zoo Keeper and working with animals. I guess that’s a pretty normal job but if the animals could talk that would be amazing. Imagine playing with animals all day and having a laugh with them on your tea break!”

 

 

lonley mountain
An epic quest to the Lonely Mountain.

 

Katie Hetherington, 21, from Bolton, says:

“I’d like to be an adventurer. Like one of the dwarves from The Hobbit. I’d be epic in the quest to the Lonely Mountain. I’d have two swords and kick some serious Orc butt. Plus I’d be rich from being friends with Thorin Oakenshield.”

 

Lisa France, 33, from Sheffield, says:

“I absolutely love Christmas, so I’d love a job like when Buddy the Elf starts working at Gimbels and he gets to decorate the store and wrap presents all day. I’d love to be an Elf. It would literally be like Christmas every day.”

 

Spiderman
Your friendly neighbourhood Spiderman.

 

Jason Smith, 30, from Rotherham, says:

“I’d like to be a Superhero but I guess that’s not an actual job, because they don’t get paid for it. I’d like an ordinary job like Peter Parker, he’s a Photographer.. That would bring the money in and then I could save the world in my spare time.”

 

So there you have it, some not so ordinary jobs that we really do wish were real.

 

If you could have the job of your favourite fictional character, what would it be and why?

Let us know in the comments or tweet us at @Inyourshoes_

Words by Jessica Peace

Leave a Reply

