In the shoes of… a Camgirl

19 year-old, Cara (not her real name) became a camgirl 8 months ago in a bid to save up enough money for university as possible.

Cara said that the pressure of having to save up enough money to be financially secure at university has made her begin camgirling as well as having her part-time job as a waitress.

A camgirl is a model who performs live on the internet in front of a webcam for money, the performance can include anything from dancing to performing sexual acts.

In 8 months of camgirling, Cara has earned just under £1,000 and received £200 worth of gifts from her customers.

On average Cara makes £10 an hour, but in a one-to-one show she can make £3 a minute.

But she said that “it is incredibly tiring, and there’s a lot of effort that goes into it.”

Her friends and family all know about her second job as a camgirl.

“My Nan has a rough idea, she calls it my dancing, the way I explained it to her was that it’s like being a stripper.”

“I assume my friends have looked at what I post, but I don’t feel awkward, it’s just another naked picture on the internet.”

Cara has a lot of customers that just like to talk about themselves when watching her on camera.

She said that camgirling “is quite fun really, it can get awkward when no one is talking, you need interaction to keep it going.”

But there are a lot of customers that want to see specific things such as her feet or customers that want to be insulted.

She said that she has considered logging off before as it got too uncomfortable. “I had a guy that wanted me to pretend to be his sister and do a private show for him.”

Cara said: “I will probably regret it one day, but not yet, it’s getting me the money that I need.”

“Everyone sells a service no matter what job they do, the sex industry is probably the oldest job in the world, it’s just advancing in other ways.”

By Damian Summers

Leave a Reply

